Friday, 7 October 2011

Jutta Splettstoesser wins "Friend of Wind" award from CanWEA

Wind energy award winners announced at CanWEA’s 27th Annual Conference and Exhibition, Vancouver, BC 

Vancouver, October 6, 2011 – Canada's largest renewable energy event wraps up today in Vancouver, BC, following last night's announcement of annual wind energy industry awards. At its gala Awards Banquet, the Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) recognized organizations and individuals who have worked tirelessly to advance the Canadian wind energy industry towards a record year of growth in 2011. Awards were presented in four categories: Individual Leadership, Group Leadership, the R.J. Templin Award and the Friend of Wind award. A new award for 2012 was also announced.
Individual Leadership Award - First awarded in 2003, to the individual who has, through their own efforts, significantly advanced the wind energy industry in Canada. Award winner: Richard Legault (President of Windev Corporation) for his dedication to the industry through his unsurpassed experience in assessing the certainty of energy yields from wind for projects in the Canadian context.
Group Leadership Award - First awarded in 2001, this award recognizes the government, corporation or non-profit organization that has contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada. Award winner: Peace Energy Cooperative and its Directors for their ability to recognize the tremendous opportunities that exist for British Columbians in renewable energy sources.
R.J. Templin Award - First awarded in 1985, in recognition of any individual or organization who has undertaken scientific, technical, engineering or policy work that has significantly advanced the wind energy industry in Canada. Award winner: Wind Energy Institute of Canada (WEICAN), for advances made in the development of wind energy across Canada through research, testing, training, and collaboration - recipient Mr. Scott Harper.
Friend of Wind Award – Awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions made by individuals or groups in advancing awareness of the benefits of wind energy at the community level. Award winner: Jutta Splettstoesser, Kincardine farmer, mother, and tireless supporter of wind energy in Ontario communities through Friends of Wind Ontario.
"We proudly recognize this year's outstanding award winners for their contributions of time and knowledge in helping to advance the wind energy industry in Canada," said CanWEA President Robert Hornung. "Their ongoing efforts and achievements have steadily advanced Canada's wind energy industry towards its goal of providing 20 per cent of the country's electricity needs by 2025."
A new award has been created for inaugural presentation in 2012. The CanWEA Community Connection Award will be presented annually to a CanWEA member organization or individual member employee who embodies the mandate of responsible development through a commitment to understand the community and by forming meaningful relationships built on mutual respect and trust.

No comments:

Post a Comment